Home » USA & Canada » What is Congress?

What is Congress?

by nyarangi on 23/09/12 at 1:46 am

What is Congress?


Congress is the name given to one of the branches of the United States of America Federal government. Congress is the legislative arm of the government, which functions separately from the other two arms namely; executive and judiciary. Its chief duty is to make laws that govern the country.


The United States Congress is bicameral, made up of two houses namely the House of Representatives and the Senate. Both members of the houses are elected thorough direct election. The House of Representatives is made up of 435 members, where each member known as a Representative serves a two year term representing a district. The Senate is made up of 100 senators who represent their respective state for six years. Regardless of the population of state, each state is represented by two senators.

Duties of Congress

The sole responsibility of the Congress is to form and pass legislations. Both the Senate and the House of Representatives complement each other in making legislations. For a piece of legislation to pass, it has to be approved by both Houses of Congress. For instance, the House of Representative is responsible for coming up with revenue bills, while the Senate’s work include approving the appointments made by the president to ratify treaties.

Liked it
Leave a Comment
comments powered by Disqus